Research Guides: Architecture & Landscape Architecture: Find Articles

Tip: Peer Reviewed Articles

Peer reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
use terms and language that are discipline-specific
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field before publication (peer review)
published by professional organizations or societies, universities, research centers, or scholarly presses

Strategies for finding peer reviewed articles:

Use a library database and limit your search to only peer reviewed articles, you may also see phrases like Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Learn if a journal is peer-reviewed:
- Some databases allow you to click on the journal title to get more information about it.
- Or check the journal's website to see whether or not the journal uses a peer-review process in its publishing practices.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic and peer-reviewed articles from 11,000+ journals in most subject areas. Full text for many (but not all) articles.
Architectural Record
Source for design news, architect continuing education, and info on sustainability, houses, projects, and architectural design. For login credentials contact library@coa.edu.
Environment Complete
Extensive coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Offering full text and indexing for journals, books and monographs.
JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Our subscription is generally limited to full text coverage from the beginning of each publication to about 3-5 years ago.
Social Science Premium Collection
Provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, dissertations, and more, including over 4,300 full-text titles. Subjects covered: anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, and sociology.

Finding Journals

Are you wondering if we have a particular journal? Do you have a citation like the following and want to know if the article is available in one of our databases?

Borden, Richard J., et al. “A River Runs Through It: A College-Community Collaboration for Watershed-Based Regional Planning and Education.” Human Ecology Review, vol. 14, no. 1, Summer 2007, pp. 90–100.

The name of the journal in the citation above is Human Ecology Review. To find out if we have access to this journal, do a title search for Human Ecology Review in our EBSCO FIND A JOURNAL.

This shows that the full text of articles from Human Ecology Review are available in our database Environment Complete from 2005 to present. Since our citation above shows that the article we want is from 2016, we should be able to find it in this database.

Journals

Architectural Design
Founded in 1930, Architectural Design (AD) is an influential and prestigious publication. It combines the currency and topicality of a newsstand journal with the rigour and production qualities of a book. With an almost unrivalled reputation worldwide, it is consistently at the forefront of cultural thought and design.
Architectural History
Architectural History: Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians of Great Britain is one of the world's leading English-language periodicals in the field of the history of architecture. Published annually each September, the journal will reach its 50th volume in 2007. Typically around 400 pages in length with about 20 articles arranged in chronological order, the journal publishes material on historical architecture world-wide, with the architecture of Britain currently predominating.
Architectural Record
Professional magazine for architects and engineers in areas of business, design and engineering.
Architectural Review
Since 1896, The Architectural Review has scoured the globe for architecture that challenges and inspires. Buildings old and new are chosen as prisms through which arguments and broader narratives are constructed. In their fearless storytelling, independent critical voices explore the forces that shape the homes, cities and places we inhabit.
Landscape Journal
Landscape Journal offers in-depth exploration of ideas and challenges that are central to contemporary design, planning, and teaching. Besides scholarly features, Landscape Journal also includes editorial columns, creative work, reviews of books, conferences, technology, and exhibitions.