Research Guides: Art & Art History: Find Articles

Tip: Peer Reviewed Articles

Peer reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
use terms and language that are discipline-specific
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field before publication (peer review)
published by professional organizations or societies, universities, research centers, or scholarly presses

Strategies for finding peer reviewed articles:

Use a library database and limit your search to only peer reviewed articles, you may also see phrases like Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Learn if a journal is peer-reviewed:
- Some databases allow you to click on the journal title to get more information about it.
- Or check the journal's website to see whether or not the journal uses a peer-review process in its publishing practices.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic and peer-reviewed articles from 11,000+ journals in most subject areas. Full text for many (but not all) articles.
ARTstor (now on JSTOR)
Access to approximately 300 collections composed of over 2 million images (and growing), scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource.
Duke University Press Journals Online
Duke University Press is an academic publisher of books and journals (full text) across humanities, social sciences, and more.
JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Our subscription is generally limited to full text coverage from the beginning of each publication to about 3-5 years ago.
Project Muse (Basic College Collection)
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Social Science Premium Collection
Provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, dissertations, and more, including over 4,300 full-text titles. Subjects covered: anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, and sociology.

Finding Journals

Are you wondering if we have a particular journal? Do you have a citation like the following and want to know if the article is available in one of our databases?

Clinger, Catherine. "Theory of the Ridiculous: Jean Paul, Max Beckmann, and Dostoevsky's Donkey." Art History 33.3 (2010): 512-533

The name of the journal in the citation above is Art History. To find out if we have access to this journal, do a title search for Art History in our EBSCO FIND A JOURNAL.

This shows that the full text of articles from Art History are available in our database Academic Search Complete from 03/01/1981 to 1 year ago. Since our citation above shows that the article we want is from 2010, we should be able to find it in this database.

Journals

Art Bulletin
The Art Bulletin publishes leading scholarship in the English language in all aspects of art history as practiced in the academy, museums, and other institutions. From its founding in 1913, the journal has published, through rigorous peer review, scholarly articles and critical reviews of the highest quality in all areas and periods of the history of art. Articles take a variety of methodological approaches, from the historical to the theoretical. In its mission as a journal of record, The Art Bulletin fosters an intensive engagement with intellectual developments and debates in contemporary art historical practice. It is published four times a year: in March, June, September, and December.
Artforum
Artforum is the magazine of record for the contemporary art world and holds the unique roles of institution and foremost tastemaker of the industry. Established in 1962, it is often the first to identify artists whose work comes to define eras, delivering the highest level of critical discourse to an international audience. Artforum’s artists’ projects, reviews, and critical essays on contemporary visual culture including coverage of film, music, architecture, performance, and media provide rigorous, diverse, and provocative perspectives on cultural trends of our time.
Art History
Art History  was founded in 1978 by John Onians. Writing in its first issue, he made clear that it was then the journal’s prime responsibility ‘to provide the subject with more room for growth, and this means that in the exploration of new fields for research no materials, no tools, no methods and no language will be excluded.’ This commitment, upheld ever since then, still stands for today’s editors, a team of four, supported by both an editorial board and an international advisory board.
Art in America
Art in America is an illustrated quarterly, international magazine concentrating on the contemporary art world in the United States, including profiles of artists and genres, updates about art movements, show reviews and event schedules. It is designed for collectors, artists, art dealers, art professionals and other readers interested in the art world.
Art Journal
Art Journal is a peer-reviewed art journal published by the College Art Association (CAA). It provides a forum for artists, art historians, and other writers to explore visual arts, art history, and criticism.
ARTnews
ARTnews is an American art magazine, based in New York City. It covers visual arts from ancient to contemporary times. It is the oldest and most widely distributed art magazine in the world.
Cabinet
Founded as a non-profit in 2000, Cabinet is an award-winning quarterly magazine of art and culture based in New York that confounds expectations of what is typically meant by the words “art,” “culture,” and sometimes even “magazine.” Its hybrid sensibility merges the popular appeal of an arts periodical, the visually engaging style of a design magazine, and the in-depth exploration of a scholarly journal to create a sourcebook of ideas for an eclectic international audience of readers, from artists and designers to scientists, philosophers, and historians. Using essays, interviews, and artist projects to present a wide range of topics in language accessible to the non-specialist, Cabinet is designed to encourage a new culture of curiosity, one that forms the basis both for an ethical engagement with the world as it is and for imagining how it might be otherwise. In an age of increasing specialization, Cabinet looks to previous traditions of the well-rounded thinker to forge a new type of magazine designed for the intellectually curious reader of the future.
Ceramics Monthly
eramics Monthly is your window to the world of studio ceramics. Launched in 1953, it is largest-circulated and most comprehensive publication dedicated to sharing ideas, discoveries, and information within the ceramic arts field.
Oxford Art Journal
The Oxford Art Journal has an international reputation for publishing innovative critical work in art history, and has played a major role in recent rethinking of the discipline. It is committed to the political analysis of visual art and material representation from a variety of theoretical perspectives, and has carried work addressing themes from Antiquity to contemporary art practice. In addition it carries extended review of major contributions to the field.