Research Guides: Earth Science: Find Articles

Tip: Peer Reviewed Articles

Peer reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
use terms and language that are discipline-specific
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field before publication (peer review)
published by professional organizations or societies, universities, research centers, or scholarly presses

Strategies for finding peer reviewed articles:

Use a library database and limit your search to only peer reviewed articles, you may also see phrases like Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Learn if a journal is peer-reviewed:
- Some databases allow you to click on the journal title to get more information about it.
- Or check the journal's website to see whether or not the journal uses a peer-review process in its publishing practices.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic and peer-reviewed articles from 11,000+ journals in most subject areas. Full text for many (but not all) articles.
BioOne
Explore more than 350 journals (full text) and eBooks in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Environment Complete
Extensive coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Offering full text and indexing for journals, books and monographs.
GeoRef
Access geoscience literature via the comprehensive AGI database. Contains over 3.6 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Our subscription is generally limited to full text coverage from the beginning of each publication to about 3-5 years ago.
Nature
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions.
Science
Science, founded by Thomas A. Edison in 1880 and published by AAAS, today ranks as the world's largest circulation general science journal. Published 51 times a year, Science is renowned for its highly cited, peer-reviewed research papers, its special strength in life science disciplines, and its award-winning coverage of breaking science news. Full-text from 1997-present.
Social Science Premium Collection
Provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, dissertations, and more, including over 4,300 full-text titles. Subjects covered: anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, and sociology.

Finding Journals

Are you wondering if we have a particular journal? Do you have a citation like the following and want to know if the article is available in one of our databases?

Margirier, Audrey, Xavier Robert, Laurence Audin, Cécile Gautheron, Matthias Bernet, Sarah Hall, and Thibaud Simon-Labric. “Slab Flattening, Magmatism, and Surface Uplift in the Cordillera Occidental (Northern Peru).” Geology 43, no. 11 (November 2015): 1031–34.

The name of the journal in the citation above is Geology. To find out if we have access to this journal, do a title search for Geology in our EBSCO FIND A JOURNAL.

This shows that the full text of articles from Geology are available in our database Environment Complete from 2007 to present. Since our citation above shows that the article we want is from 2015, we should be able to find it in this database.

Journals

Environmental Earth Sciences
Environmental Earth Sciences is an international journal focused on the study of anthropogenically altered interactions within the geosphere and between the geosphere–biosphere.
Environmental Geology
Environmental Geology was (1993 - 2009) has changed to Environmental Earth Sciences.
Geosphere
Geosphere is an open access, online-only journal that targets an international audience and publishes high-quality research results from all fields of the geosciences. It particularly seeks papers that take advantage of the electronic format. Full-text available for all issues.
GSA Today
Published since 1890; covers all aspects of the geosciences.
The Holocene
Coverage of scientific research on environmental change over the last 10,000 years including past, present and future change on local, regional and global scales.
Journal of Climate
Original research papers & critical surveys related to atmospheres of earth & other planets, emphasizing quantitative & deductive aspects of physics & dynamics of atmospheric processes & phenomena.
Journal of Paleontology
Journal of Paleontology publishes research on the systematics, phylogeny, paleoecology, paleogeography, and evolution of fossil organisms. It emphasizes specimen-based research and features high quality illustrations.
Mineralogy and Petrology
Covers the entire field of mineralogy, crystallography, petrology, geochemistry and mineral deposits in an attempt to counteract increasing fragmentation and specialization in the earth sciences.
Modern Geology
Aims to provide information on the growing points of the geological sciences.
Nature
Original research articles & letters, review articles, news of science in universities, industry & government, correspondence and opinion pieces.
Proceedings Of The National Academy Of Sciences Of The United States Of America
PNAS is the world's most-cited multidisciplinary scientific serial. It publishes high-impact research reports, commentaries, perspectives, reviews, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy. In accordance with the guiding principles established by George Ellery Hale in 1914, PNAS publishes brief first announcements of Academy Members' and Foreign Associates' more important contributions to research and of work that appears to a Member to be of particular importance.
Science
Science is renowned for its highly cited, peer-reviewed research papers, its special strength in life science disciplines, and its award-winning coverage of breaking science news.