Research Guides: Economics: Find Articles

Tip: Peer Reviewed Articles

Peer reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
use terms and language that are discipline-specific
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field before publication (peer review)
published by professional organizations or societies, universities, research centers, or scholarly presses

Strategies for finding peer reviewed articles:

Use a library database and limit your search to only peer reviewed articles, you may also see phrases like Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Learn if a journal is peer-reviewed:
- Some databases allow you to click on the journal title to get more information about it.
- Or check the journal's website to see whether or not the journal uses a peer-review process in its publishing practices.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic and peer-reviewed articles from 11,000+ journals in most subject areas. Full text for many (but not all) articles.
EconLit
Provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books and dissertations, EconLit covers both economic theory and application.
Economist
The Economist is a British weekly newspaper printed in demitab format and published digitally. It focuses on current affairs, international business, politics, technology, and culture. For login credentials contact library@coa.edu.
Global Road Warrior
Provides access to an extensive country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide. There are 174 Country Guides of 119 topics each.
IBISWorld
The largest publisher of industry analysis in the world, covering every segment of the economy. This information is based on official data sources, like the U.S. Census Bureau, and is updated every 3-4 months, ensuring access to the latest information.
IDEAS RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)
IDEAS is the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Based on RePEc, it indexes over 4,500,000 items of research, including over 4,100,000 that can be downloaded in full text.
New York Times
Access is limited to current students, faculty and staff using their @coa.edu email address. Click on Create Account, then click Continue with Google, then use your @coa.edu credentials to complete the process.
Social Science Premium Collection
Provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, dissertations, and more, including over 4,300 full-text titles. Subjects covered: anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, and sociology.

Finding Journals

Are you wondering if we have a particular journal? Do you have a citation like the following and want to know if the article is available in one of our databases?

Ghose, Nabarun. "Enhancing Global Competitiveness through Experiential Learning: Insights into Successful Programming." American Journal of Business Education 3.7 (2010): 1-5. ProQuest.

The name of the journal in the citation above is American Journal of Business Education. To find out if we have access to this journal, do a title search for American Journal of Business Education in our EBSCO FIND A JOURNAL.

This shows that the full text of articles this journal are available in our database Business Premium Collection from 2009 to 2011. Since our citation above shows that the article we want is from 2010, we should be able to find it in this database.

Journals

Atlantic Monthly
Features articles for the general reader, reports & comments on recent events in history, humor, fiction, poetry, arts & leisure, & book reviews.
The Economist
The Economist is a weekly newspaper and news magazine that covers business, economics, politics, and more.
Environmental and Resource Economics
The primary concern of Environmental & Resource Economics is the application of economic theory and methods to environmental issues and problems that require detailed analysis in order to improve management strategies
Environmental Economics and Policy Studies
Provides an international forum for debates among diverse disciplines such as environmental economics, environmental policy studies & related fields.
International Economics and Economic Policy
Concerned with comparative economic policy, international political economy, including international organizations and policy cooperation, monetary and real/technological dynamics in open economies, globalization and regional integration.
Journal of Economic Literature
Survey & review articles, book reviews, an annotated listing of new books, arranged according to subject matter.
Journal of Economic Perspectives
Provides economists reporting & critiques on recent research findings, evaluates public policy initiatives, & serves as insightful readings for class room, public, & business use.
The OECD Observer
The award-winning public policy magazine of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, founded November 1962.