Research Guides: Education: Find Articles

Tip: Peer Reviewed Articles

Peer reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
use terms and language that are discipline-specific
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field before publication (peer review)
published by professional organizations or societies, universities, research centers, or scholarly presses

Strategies for finding peer reviewed articles:

Use a library database and limit your search to only peer reviewed articles, you may also see phrases like Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Learn if a journal is peer-reviewed:
- Some databases allow you to click on the journal title to get more information about it.
- Or check the journal's website to see whether or not the journal uses a peer-review process in its publishing practices.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic and peer-reviewed articles from 11,000+ journals in most subject areas. Full text for many (but not all) articles.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
Indexes and abstracts journal articles about education.
JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Our subscription is generally limited to full text coverage from the beginning of each publication to about 3-5 years ago.
LearningExpress Library
An easy-to-use online test prep resource that helps people improve their core academic skills, earn a high school equivalency, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more.
LearningExpress PrepSTEP for Colleges & Universities
A resource to help improve core academic skills, score higher on college placement tests, explore careers, prepare for occupational exams or build workplace skills.
New York Times
Access is limited to current students, faculty and staff using their @coa.edu email address. Click on Create Account, then click Continue with Google, then use your @coa.edu credentials to complete the process.
Project Muse (Basic College Collection)
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Social Science Premium Collection
Provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, dissertations, and more, including over 4,300 full-text titles. Subjects covered: anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, and sociology.
Teacher Reference Center
A database with indexing and abstracts for more than 230 peer-reviewed journals covering pedagogical research, best practices, standards and more.

Finding Journals

Are you wondering if we have a particular journal? Do you have a citation like the following and want to know if the article is available in one of our databases?

Bonnie Hao, Kuo Tai. "Classroom Power Relations: Understanding Student-Teacher Interaction / "Sometimes I can be Anything": Power, Gender, and Identity in a Primary Classroom / Political Moments in the.." Harvard Educational Review 68.3 (1998): 426-36.

The name of the journal in the citation above is Harvard Educational Review. To find out if we have access to this journal, do a title search for Harvard Educational Review in our EBSCO FIND A JOURNAL.

This shows that the full text of articles from Harvard Educational Review are available in our database Social Science Premium Collection from 02/01/1968 to 1 year ago. Since our citation above shows that the article we want is from 1998, we should be able to find it in this database.

Journals

Chronicle of Higher Education
News and trends, legislation, meetings, seminars, workshops, classified employment advertising for higher education administrators, faculty members, researchers & scholars.
Equity & Excellence in Education
Equity & Excellence in Education publishes theoretically rich, methodologically rigorous, peer reviewed research articles and analytical essays that advance and/or complicate existing conceptualizations and understandings of equity, excellence, and justice across the field of education.
Gender and Education
Gender and Education grew out of feminist politics and a social justice agenda and is committed to developing multi-disciplinary and critical discussions of gender and education. The journal is particularly interested in the place of gender in relation to other key differences and seeks to further feminist knowledge, philosophies, theory, action and debate.
Journal of Environmental Education
Peer reviewed coverage of environmental education topics, including case studies of relevant projects, evaluation of new research, and discussion of public policy and philosophy. Written for teaching professionals in the area of environmental education.
Journal of Museum Education
Journal of Museum Education is the premier publication promoting and reporting on theory, training, and practice in the museum education field. Each issue focuses on a specific theme of interest to museum educators, informal educators, museum administrators, researchers, and other education and museum practitioners.
The Science Teacher
The Science Teacher is an award-winning, peer-reviewed, practitioners' journal for grade 9-12 teachers, university faculty responsible for teacher preparation, and state and district science supervisors and leaders. The Science Teacher is published six times a year and is available in print and as an e-journal.
Social Education
Provides new ideas and content for social studies instruction across all grade levels.
Teaching Children Mathematics
Teaching Children Mathematics (TCM) is an official journal of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics and is intended as a resource for elementary school students, teachers, and teacher educators. The focus of the journal is on intuitive, exploratory investigations that use informal reasoning to help students develop a strong conceptual basis that leads to greater mathematical abstraction. The journal's articles have won numerous awards, including honors from the Society of National Association Publications.