Research Guides: Farming & Food Systems: Find Articles

Tip: Peer Reviewed Articles

Peer reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
use terms and language that are discipline-specific
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field before publication (peer review)
published by professional organizations or societies, universities, research centers, or scholarly presses

Strategies for finding peer reviewed articles:

Use a library database and limit your search to only peer reviewed articles, you may also see phrases like Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Learn if a journal is peer-reviewed:
- Some databases allow you to click on the journal title to get more information about it.
- Or check the journal's website to see whether or not the journal uses a peer-review process in its publishing practices.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic and peer-reviewed articles from 11,000+ journals in most subject areas. Full text for many (but not all) articles.
Agricola
The National Agricultural Library, as part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, produces the NAL Catalog (AGRICOLA) database. This free database contains records for books and articles on agriculture and its allied disciplines.
BioOne
Explore more than 350 journals (full text) and eBooks in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Environment Complete
Extensive coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Offering full text and indexing for journals, books and monographs.
Food Science & Technology Abstracts (FSTA)
FSTA® is an extensive specialist database in which carefully selected food and health research and information is collated, summarized, and indexed for efficient searching.
Food Science Source
Full-text database designed to support the research needs of the food industry. It provides hundreds of full-text journals, monographs, magazines and trade publications, plus a wealth of food industry and market reports. Subjects include food processing, safety, service, shipping and innovation.
JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Our subscription is generally limited to full text coverage from the beginning of each publication to about 3-5 years ago.
Nature
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions.
Project Muse (Basic College Collection)
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Science
Science, founded by Thomas A. Edison in 1880 and published by AAAS, today ranks as the world's largest circulation general science journal. Published 51 times a year, Science is renowned for its highly cited, peer-reviewed research papers, its special strength in life science disciplines, and its award-winning coverage of breaking science news. Full-text from 1997-present.
Social Science Premium Collection
Provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, dissertations, and more, including over 4,300 full-text titles. Subjects covered: anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, and sociology.

Finding Journals

Are you wondering if we have a particular journal? Do you have a citation like the following and want to know if the article is available in one of our databases?

Hanes, Samuel P., Kourtney K. Collum, Aaron K. Hoshide, and Eric Asare. 2015. “Grower Perceptions of Native Pollinators and Pollination Strategies in the Lowbush Blueberry Industry.” Renewable Agriculture & Food Systems 30 (2): 124–31. doi:10.1017/S1742170513000331.

The name of the journal in the citation above is Renewable Agriculture & Food Systems. To find out if we have access to this journal, do a title search for Renewable Agriculture & Food Systems in our EBSCO FIND A JOURNAL.

This shows that the full text of articles from Renewable Agriculture & Food Systems are available in our database JSTOR from 2004 to 6 years ago. Since the citation above shows that the article is from 2015, it should be available in this database.

Journals

Agriculture and Human Values
Agriculture and Human Values publishes about values that shape and the structures that underlie current and alternative visions of food and agricultural systems.
Biocycle
BioCycle is the go-to resource on composting, organics recycling, anaerobic digestion and biogas, end product markets, policies and regulations, and community outreach and education.
Human Organization
Human Organization is the journal of the Society for Applied Anthropology and the leading peer reviewed outlet for scholarship in the applied social sciences. The journal advances SfAA's mission through publishing articles that advance, synthesize, and interpret the application of anthropological method and theory to the analysis and solution of practical problems in the contemporary world. Human Organization publishes articles dealing with all areas of applied social science. In addition to those reporting on original research, the journal publishes articles detailing innovative methodological and engaged research practices.
Journal of Agrarian Change
The Journal of Agrarian Change is a leading journal in the field of agrarian political economy. We promote the interdisciplinary investigation of the social relations and dynamics of production, property and power in agrarian formations and their processes of change, both historical and contemporary.
Journal of Hunger and Environmental Nutrition
Publishes papers on global food, water, and climatic issues that impact food and water access, natural resources, nutrition, human health, and ecological health.
The Maine Organic Farmer & Gardener
The Maine Organic Farmer & Gardener, MOFGA’s quarterly newspaper, is considered to be one of the leading information sources on organic agriculture and sustainable living practices. The publication features articles ranging from organic farming and gardening advice to in-depth coverage on the ecological, social and environmental consequences of industrialized agriculture. Each issue also features delicious recipes, organic products information, details on MOFGA’s activities and much, much more.
Renewable Agriculture and Food Systems
Renewable Agriculture and Food Systems (formerly American Journal of Alternative Agriculture) is a multi-disciplinary journal which focuses on the science that underpins economically, environmentally, and socially sustainable approaches to agriculture and food production.