Research Guides: Gender & Identity Studies: Find Articles

Tip: Peer Reviewed Articles

Peer reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
use terms and language that are discipline-specific
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field before publication (peer review)
published by professional organizations or societies, universities, research centers, or scholarly presses

Strategies for finding peer reviewed articles:

Use a library database and limit your search to only peer reviewed articles, you may also see phrases like Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Learn if a journal is peer-reviewed:
- Some databases allow you to click on the journal title to get more information about it.
- Or check the journal's website to see whether or not the journal uses a peer-review process in its publishing practices.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic and peer-reviewed articles from 11,000+ journals in most subject areas. Full text for many (but not all) articles.
Duke University Press Journals Online
Duke University Press is an academic publisher of books and journals (full text) across humanities, social sciences, and more.
JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Our subscription is generally limited to full text coverage from the beginning of each publication to about 3-5 years ago.
Nature
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions.
Project Muse (Basic College Collection)
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
PubMed
PubMed® comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Social Science Premium Collection
Provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, dissertations, and more, including over 4,300 full-text titles. Subjects covered: anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, and sociology.

Finding Journals

Are you wondering if we have a particular journal? Do you have a citation like the following and want to know if the article is available in one of our databases?

Lakey, Heather. “The Many, the Wise, and the Marginalized: The Endoxic Method and The Second Sex.” Hypatia 35.2 (2020): 317–335.

The name of the journal in the citation above is Hypatia. To find out if we have access to this journal, do a title search for Hypatia in our EBSCO FIND A JOURNAL.

This shows that the full text of articles from Hypatia are available in our database Cambridge Journals from 1986 to presento. Since the citation above shows that the article is from 2020, it should be available in this database.

Journals

Feminist Formations
Feminist Formations is a leading journal for innovative work in women’s, gender, and sexuality studies. Published by the Johns Hopkins University Press, the journal brings together cutting-edge academic and poetic voices. Issues are published three times a year in spring, fall, and winter.
Feminist Formations seeks robust feminist scholarship, visual art, and poetry that can inspire incisive and politically meaningful analyses and action. Based in the Department of Gender & Women’s Studies at the University of Arizona, the editorial team is dedicated to creating an interdisciplinary space of critical inquiry, compassionate response, and feminist praxis.
Feminist Studies
Articles that focus on women's experience and on gender as a category of analysis of a critical, scholarly, speculative and political nature, poetry and art, reports from the women's movement and strategies for change.
Gender & History
Examines changing conceptions of gender, and maps the dialogue between femininities, masculinities and their historical contexts.
GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies
Providing a much-needed forum for interdisciplinary discussion, GLQ publishes scholarship, criticism, and commentary in areas as diverse as law, science studies, religion, political science, and literary studies. Its aim is to offer queer perspectives on all issues touching on sex and sexuality.
Journal of Gender Studies
Interdisciplinary journal publishing articles relating to gender from a feminist perspective.
Journal of the History of Sexuality
Illuminates the history of sexuality in all its expressions, recognizing various differences of class, culture, gender, race, & sexual orientation.
TSQ: Transgender Studies Quarterly
Transgender Studies Quarterly offers a high-profile venue for innovative research and scholarship that contest the objectification, pathologization, and exoticization of transgender lives. It publishes interdisciplinary work that explores the diversity of gender, sex, sexuality, embodiment, and identity in ways that have not been adequately addressed by feminist and queer scholarship.