Research Guides: History: Find Articles

Tip: Peer Reviewed Articles

Peer reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
use terms and language that are discipline-specific
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field before publication (peer review)
published by professional organizations or societies, universities, research centers, or scholarly presses

Strategies for finding peer reviewed articles:

Use a library database and limit your search to only peer reviewed articles, you may also see phrases like Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Learn if a journal is peer-reviewed:
- Some databases allow you to click on the journal title to get more information about it.
- Or check the journal's website to see whether or not the journal uses a peer-review process in its publishing practices.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic and peer-reviewed articles from 11,000+ journals in most subject areas. Full text for many (but not all) articles.
Bar Harbor Maine Newspaper Archives
Search through Bar Harbor, Maine newspapers Bar Harbor Mount Desert Herald (1881-1889), the Bar Harbor Record (1887-1962), and the Bar Harbor Times (1902-1968) for free!
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Discover 49,018,480 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States
Duke University Press Journals Online
Duke University Press is an academic publisher of books and journals (full text) across humanities, social sciences, and more.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
Free archive of indexed publications related to the Americas and written in Europe before 1750. It includes thousands of valuable primary source records covering the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples.
Global Road Warrior
Provides access to an extensive country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide. There are 174 Country Guides of 119 topics each.
Global Road Warrior
Provides access to an extensive country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide. There are 174 Country Guides of 119 topics each.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Find citations to articles in the Handbook of Latin American Studies published yearly since 1936.
History Reference Source
Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century, History Reference Source is a research database containing full-text journals, magazines, reference books and thousands of primary source documents.
JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Our subscription is generally limited to full text coverage from the beginning of each publication to about 3-5 years ago.
Maine Memory Network
The Maine Memory Network, a project of the Maine Historical Society, provides access to thousands of historical items, stories, and exhibits from hundreds of organizations and individuals from across Maine.
Project Muse (Basic College Collection)
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

Finding Journals

Are you wondering if we have a particular journal? Do you have a citation like the following and want to know if the article is available in one of our databases?

Little-Siebold, Todd. “The Valenzuela Collection in the Biblioteca Nacional de Guatemala.” Latin American Research Review, vol. 29, no. 3, July 1994, p. 143.

The name of the journal in the citation above is Latin American Research Review. To find out if we have access to this journal, do a title search for Latin American Research Review in our EBSCO FIND A JOURNAL.

This shows that the full text of articles from Latin American Research Review are available in our database Academic Search Complete from 1991 to present. Since the citation above shows that the article is from 1994, it should be available in this database.

Journals

Asian Studies Review
Asian Studies Review publishes social science scholarship on the modern histories, cultures, societies, languages, politics and religions of Asia.
The Canadian Historical Review
The Canadian Historical Review offers an analysis of the ideas, people, and events that have molded Canadian society and institutions into their present state. Canada's past is examined from a vast and multicultural perspective to provide a thorough assessment of all influences.
Eighteenth-Century Life
Committed to interdisciplinary exchange, Eighteenth-Century Life addresses all aspects of European and world culture during the long eighteenth century. The most wide-ranging journal of eighteenth-century studies, it also encourages diverse methodologies—from close reading to cultural studies—and it always welcomes suggestions for review essays.
Ethnohistory
Ethnohistory reflects the wide range of current scholarship inspired by anthropological and historical approaches to the human condition around the world, but with a particular emphasis on the Americas.
French Historical Studies
French Historical Studies is the leading journal on the history of France and the Francophone world, publishing articles on all periods of French history from the Middle Ages to the present. The journal’s diverse format includes research articles, special thematic issues, forums, review essays, and articles in both English and French, as well as bilingual abstracts of all articles. It also features bibliographies of recent works related to French history.
Hispanic American Historical Review
Hispanic American Historical Review pioneered the study of Latin American history and culture in the United States and remains the most widely respected journal in the field. HAHR's comprehensive book review section provides commentary, ranging from brief notices to review essays, on every facet of scholarship on Latin American history and culture.
Journal of American History
he Journal of American History is the leading scholarly publication and the journal of record in the field of American history.