Research Guides: Marine Sciences: Find Articles

Tip: Peer Reviewed Articles

Peer reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
use terms and language that are discipline-specific
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field before publication (peer review)
published by professional organizations or societies, universities, research centers, or scholarly presses

Strategies for finding peer reviewed articles:

Use a library database and limit your search to only peer reviewed articles, you may also see phrases like Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Learn if a journal is peer-reviewed:
- Some databases allow you to click on the journal title to get more information about it.
- Or check the journal's website to see whether or not the journal uses a peer-review process in its publishing practices.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic and peer-reviewed articles from 11,000+ journals in most subject areas. Full text for many (but not all) articles.
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Discover specialized, editorially-curated and relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical for scientists researching the world's living aquatic resources. Coverage from 1971-present.
BioOne
Explore more than 350 journals (full text) and eBooks in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Environment Complete
Extensive coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Offering full text and indexing for journals, books and monographs.
JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Our subscription is generally limited to full text coverage from the beginning of each publication to about 3-5 years ago.
Sea Grant Publications
The Sea Grant Collection consists of research funded by the NOAA National Sea Grant College Program. The emphasis of these documents is on the responsible environmental stewardship and management of the United States' coastal, marine, and Great Lakes resources. This collection includes a range of annual and technical reports, educational/instructional materials, and journal publications.

Finding Journals

Are you wondering if we have a particular journal? Do you have a citation like the following and want to know if the article is available in one of our databases?

Bort, J., Van Parijs, S., Stevick, P., Summers, E., and Todd, S. K. 2015. North Atlantic right whale (Eubalaena glacialis) vocalization patterns in the central Gulf of Maine from October 2009 to October 2010. Endangered Species Research 26:271-280.

The name of the journal in the citation above is Endangered Species Research. To find out if we have access to this journal, do a title search for Endangered Species Research in our EBSCO FIND A JOURNAL.

This shows that the full text of articles from Endangered Species Research are available in our database DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals from 2015 to present. Since the citation above shows that the article is from 2015, it should be available in this database.

Journals

Aquatic Mammals
Aquatic Mammals is a peer-reviewed journal sponsored by the European Association for Aquatic Mammals (EAAM), the Alliance of Marine Mammal Parks and Aquariums (AMMPA), and the International Marine Animal Trainers’ Association (IMATA). Aquatic Mammals publishes articles related to marine mammals (whales, dolphins, seals, fur seals, sea lions, walrus, dugongs, manatees, sea otters, and polar bears). Topics of publication on both captive animals and wild marine mammals include aspects of husbandry; behavior; conservation; veterinary medicine; anatomy; physiology; training; population trends; and the effects of pollution, climate change, and noise.
Atlantic Salmon
The Atlantic Salmon Federation was founded in 1948 to conserve and restore wild salmon and wild rivers. The Atlantic Salmon Journal is the Atlantic Salmon Federation’s quarterly magazine.
Bulletin of Marine Science
The Bulletin of Marine Science is a hybrid open access journal dedicated to the dissemination of research dealing with the waters of the world’s oceans.All aspects of marine science are treated by the Bulletin of Marine Science, including papers in marine biology, biological oceanography, fisheries, marine policy, applied marine physics, marine geology and geophysics, marine and atmospheric chemistry, meteorology, and physical oceanography. In most regular issues the Bulletin features separate sections on new taxa, coral reefs, and novel research gear, instrument, device, or system with potential to advance marine research (“Research Tools in Marine Science”). Additionally, the Bulletin publishes informative stand-alone artwork with accompany text in its section “Portraits of Marine Science”.
Fisheries Oceanography
Fisheries Oceanography is an aquaculture journal providing a platform for fisheries scientists to exchange information worldwide. We are the international journal of the Japanese Society for Fisheries Oceanography.
Journal of Mammalogy
This highly respected international scientific journal is produced 6 times per year and promotes interest in mammals throughout the world by the publication of original and timely research on all aspects of the biology of mammals. Timely papers are published on mammalian behavior, conservation, ecology, genetics, morphology, physiology, and taxonomy. Society news and student scholarship opportunities are published regularly at the end of each issue.
Marine and Coastal Fisheries: Dynamics, Management, and Ecosystem Science
Marine and Coastal Fisheries: Dynamics, Management, and Ecosystem Science publishes original and innovative research that synthesizes information on biological organization across spatial and temporal scales to promote ecologically sound fisheries science and management. This open-access, online journal published by the American Fisheries Society provides an international venue for studies of marine, coastal, and estuarine fisheries, with emphasis on species' performance and responses to perturbations in their environment, and promotes the development of ecosystem-based fisheries science and management.
Marine Mammal Science
Published for the Society for Marine Mammalogy, Marine Mammal Science publishes significant new findings on marine mammals resulting from original research on their form and function, evolution, systematics, physiology, biochemistry, behavior, population biology, life history, genetics, ecology and conservation.