Research Guides: Math, Physics & Astronomy: Find Articles

Tip: Peer Reviewed Articles

Peer reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
use terms and language that are discipline-specific
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field before publication (peer review)
published by professional organizations or societies, universities, research centers, or scholarly presses

Strategies for finding peer reviewed articles:

Use a library database and limit your search to only peer reviewed articles, you may also see phrases like Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Learn if a journal is peer-reviewed:
- Some databases allow you to click on the journal title to get more information about it.
- Or check the journal's website to see whether or not the journal uses a peer-review process in its publishing practices.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic and peer-reviewed articles from 11,000+ journals in most subject areas. Full text for many (but not all) articles.
BioOne
Explore more than 350 journals (full text) and eBooks in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Our subscription is generally limited to full text coverage from the beginning of each publication to about 3-5 years ago.
Nature
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions.
Science
Science, founded by Thomas A. Edison in 1880 and published by AAAS, today ranks as the world's largest circulation general science journal. Published 51 times a year, Science is renowned for its highly cited, peer-reviewed research papers, its special strength in life science disciplines, and its award-winning coverage of breaking science news. Full-text from 1997-present.

Finding Journals

Are you wondering if we have a particular journal? Do you have a citation like the following and want to know if the article is available in one of our databases?

David P. Feldman, and James P. Crutchfield. 2022. “Discovering Noncritical Organization: Statistical Mechanical, Information Theoretic, and Computational Views of Patterns in One-Dimensional Spin Systems.” Entropy 24 (9): 1282.

The name of the journal in the citation above is Entropy. To find out if we have access to this journal, do a title search for Entropy in our EBSCO FIND A JOURNAL.

This shows that the full text of articles from Entropy are available in our database Academic Search Complete from 2008 to present. Since the citation above shows that the article is from 2022, it should be available in this database.

Journals

Acta Mathematica
Publishes original research papers of the highest quality in all fields of mathematics.
The Astronomy and Astrophysics Review
Provides important reviews that present a reasonably complete & well-balanced survey of the world literature & allows authors to represent an appropriate cross-section of the astronomical community.
Astronomy Reports
Astronomy Reports is a peer-reviewed journal focusing on publishing original papers on a diverse range of astronomical topics.
College Mathematics Journal
The College Mathematics Journal is designed to enhance classroom learning and stimulate thinking regarding undergraduate mathematics. It publishes articles, short Classroom Capsules, problems, solutions, media reviews, and other pieces. All are aimed at the college mathematics curriculum with emphasis on topics taught in the first two years.
Foundations of Physics
Foundations of Physics is a single-blind peer-reviewed journal that provides a forum for discussing the conceptual structures and foundational aspects at the highest professional level, among scientists, mathematicians and philosophers.
International Journal of Astronomy and Astrophysics
International Journal of Astronomy and Astrophysics (IJAA) is an international scientific journal dedicated to the publication and public discussion of high quality original research in all the fields of astrophysics and space sciences and related technology. All the manuscripts must be prepared in English and are subject to a rigorous and fair peer-review process.
Journal Of The American Mathematical Society
Published by the American Mathematical Society, the Journal of the American Mathematical Society (JAMS) is devoted to research articles of the highest quality in all areas of mathematics.
Nature
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions.
Sky and Telescope
Written for the knowledgeable amateur astronomer. Articles on space science, astronomy, observatories, planetariums, telescopes and celestial events.