Research Guides: Museum Studies: Find Articles

Tip: Peer Reviewed Articles

Peer reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
use terms and language that are discipline-specific
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field before publication (peer review)
published by professional organizations or societies, universities, research centers, or scholarly presses

Strategies for finding peer reviewed articles:

Use a library database and limit your search to only peer reviewed articles, you may also see phrases like Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Learn if a journal is peer-reviewed:
- Some databases allow you to click on the journal title to get more information about it.
- Or check the journal's website to see whether or not the journal uses a peer-review process in its publishing practices.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic and peer-reviewed articles from 11,000+ journals in most subject areas. Full text for many (but not all) articles.
BioOne
Explore more than 350 journals (full text) and eBooks in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Duke University Press Journals Online
Duke University Press is an academic publisher of books and journals (full text) across humanities, social sciences, and more.
JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Our subscription is generally limited to full text coverage from the beginning of each publication to about 3-5 years ago.
Project Muse (Basic College Collection)
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Social Science Premium Collection
Provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, dissertations, and more, including over 4,300 full-text titles. Subjects covered: anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, and sociology.

Finding Journals

Are you wondering if we have a particular journal? Do you have a citation like the following and want to know if the article is available in one of our databases?

Bauman, R. (2011). “Better than any monument”: Envisioning museums of the spoken word. Museum Anthropology Review, 5(1-2), 1-13

The name of the journal in the citation above is Museum Anthropology Review. To find out if we have access to this journal, do a title search for Museum Anthropology Review in our EBSCO FIND A JOURNAL.

This shows that the full text of articles from Museum Anthropology Review are available in our database Social Science Premium Collection from 01/01/2011 to present. Since our citation above shows that the article we want is from 2011, we should be able to find it in this database.

Journals

Annals of the Carnegie Museum
Annals of Carnegie Museum is a quarterly journal that publishes peer-reviewed short and medium-length original scientific contributions in organismal biology, earth sciences, and anthropology.
Bulletin of the Peabody Museum of Natural History
Bulletin of the Peabody Museum of Natural History, which has been in publication since 1925, contains original research on a variety of topics in the natural sciences based on the collections of the Peabody Museum at Yale University.
Journal of Conservation and Museum Studies
The Journal of Conservation and Museum Studies is fully peer reviewed and Open Access. It contains research on conservation science, artefact studies, restoration, museum studies, environment studies, collection management and curation.
Journal of Museum Education
The Journal of Museum Education, a publication of the Museum Education Roundtable, is the premier publication promoting and reporting on theory, training, and practice in the museum education field.
Metropolitan Museum Journal
The Metropolitan Museum Journal presents richly illustrated studies of works in the Museum's collection, including prominent as well as lesser known pieces, and relating them to works in other collections.
Natural History
The editorial main scope is to elect pioneer scientific research papers in any field which meet a high standard to promote the journal reputation and scientific reliance in international databases. Papers which interest readers from more than one discipline are mostly considered. In particular, we are keen to publish work with international audience.
Smithsonian
A monthly magazine created for modern, well-rounded individuals with diverse interests. It chronicles the arts, history, sciences and popular culture of the times.