Research Guides: Performing Arts: Find Articles

Tip: Peer Reviewed Articles

Peer reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
use terms and language that are discipline-specific
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field before publication (peer review)
published by professional organizations or societies, universities, research centers, or scholarly presses

Strategies for finding peer reviewed articles:

Use a library database and limit your search to only peer reviewed articles, you may also see phrases like Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Learn if a journal is peer-reviewed:
- Some databases allow you to click on the journal title to get more information about it.
- Or check the journal's website to see whether or not the journal uses a peer-review process in its publishing practices.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic and peer-reviewed articles from 11,000+ journals in most subject areas. Full text for many (but not all) articles.
Duke University Press Journals Online
Duke University Press is an academic publisher of books and journals (full text) across humanities, social sciences, and more.
JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Our subscription is generally limited to full text coverage from the beginning of each publication to about 3-5 years ago.
Project Muse (Basic College Collection)
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

Finding Journals

Are you wondering if we have a particular journal? Do you have a citation like the following and want to know if the article is available in one of our databases?

Adair Rounthwaite; From This Body to Yours: Porn, Affect, and Performance Art Documentation. Camera Obscura 1 December 2011; 26 (3 (78)): 63–93

The name of the journal in the citation above is Camera Obscura. To find out if we have access to this journal, do a title search for Camera Obscura in our EBSCO FIND A JOURNAL.

This shows that the full text of articles from Camera Obscura are available in our database Duke University Press from 01/01/1976 to present. Since our citation above shows that the article we want is from 2011, we should be able to find it in this database.

Journals

American Theatre
American Theatre magazine is the nation’s only general-circulation magazine devoted to theatre. Founded in 1984 by the pioneering arts service organization Theatre Communications Group, the magazine featured cowboy-hatted playwright Sam Shepard on its first cover in April of that year. Since the fall of 2023, it is published quarterly.
Asian Theatre Journal
Asian Theatre Journal is dedicated to the performing arts of Asia, focusing upon both traditional and modern theatrical forms. It aims to facilitate the exchange of knowledge throughout the international theatrical community for the mutual benefit of all interested scholars and artists. This engaging, intercultural journal offers descriptive and analytical articles, original plays and play translations, book and audiovisual reviews, and reports of current theatrical activities in Asia. Full-color plates and black-and-white photographs illustrate each issue.
Dance Chronicle
Dance Chronicle is an independent, peer-reviewed journal that publishes research on dance and seeks to expand the constituencies, methodologies, and theoretical frameworks represented within the field of dance studies.
Dance Magazine
A look at today's exciting world of dance, color features of the most talked about companies and performers, dance news, reviews of performances, dance books, films and TV, and more.
PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art
PAJ explores innovative work in theatre, performance art, dance, video, writing, technology, sound, and music, bringing together all live arts in thoughtful cultural dialogue. Issues include critical essays, artists’ writings, interviews, plays, drawings and notations, with extended coverage of performance, festivals, and books.
Performing Arts Journal
Under continuous editorship since its founding in 1976, PAJ has been an influential voice in the arts for twenty-six years. Now in an updated format and design, PAJ offers extended coverage of the visual arts (such as video, installations, photography, and multimedia performance), in addition to reviews of new works in theatre, dance, film, and opera. Issues include artists' writings, essays, interviews and dialogues, historical documentation, performance texts and plays, reports on performance abroad, and book reviews.
TDR: Drama Review
DR is scholarly, accessible, and dynamic with a global appeal. Each article is tightly focused, but the effect of the whole is of a broad range of topics. TDR is at the cutting edge of performance studies. TDR supports progressive political and social movements and ideas. TDR is inclusive and interdisciplinary. Written by and for scholars and artists—and their students—TDR is where leaders and future leaders of performance studies go for performance texts, performative writing, editorials, reviews, and articles about the performing arts, performance in everyday life, politics, popular entertainment, business, and sports.