Research Guides: Philosophy: Find Articles

Tip: Peer Reviewed Articles

Peer reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
use terms and language that are discipline-specific
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field before publication (peer review)
published by professional organizations or societies, universities, research centers, or scholarly presses

Strategies for finding peer reviewed articles:

Use a library database and limit your search to only peer reviewed articles, you may also see phrases like Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Learn if a journal is peer-reviewed:
- Some databases allow you to click on the journal title to get more information about it.
- Or check the journal's website to see whether or not the journal uses a peer-review process in its publishing practices.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic and peer-reviewed articles from 11,000+ journals in most subject areas. Full text for many (but not all) articles.
Duke University Press Journals Online
Duke University Press is an academic publisher of books and journals (full text) across humanities, social sciences, and more.
JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Our subscription is generally limited to full text coverage from the beginning of each publication to about 3-5 years ago.
Project Muse (Basic College Collection)
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Social Science Premium Collection
Provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, dissertations, and more, including over 4,300 full-text titles. Subjects covered: anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, and sociology.

Finding Journals

Are you wondering if we have a particular journal? Do you have a citation like the following and want to know if the article is available in one of our databases?

Davis, D. (2019). Critical philosophy of race and decoloniality. Social Alternatives, 38(4), 3-4.

The name of the journal in the citation above is Social Alternatives. To find out if we have access to this journal, do a title search for Social Alternatives in our EBSCO FIND A JOURNAL.

This shows that the full text of articles from Social Alternatives are available in our database Social Science Premium Collection from 07/01/2007 to present. Since our citation above shows that the article we want is from 2019, we should be able to find it in this database.

Journals

Configurations
Configurations explores the relations of literature and the arts to the sciences and technology. Founded in 1993, the journal continues to set the stage for transdisciplinary research concerning the interplay between science, technology, and the arts. Configurations is the official publication of the Society for Literature, Science, and the Arts (SLSA).
Critical Inquiry
Critical Inquiry is a peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal devoted to the best critical thought in the arts and humanities. Founded in 1974, it has been called “one of the best known and most influential journals in the world” (Chicago Tribune) and “academe’s most prestigious theory journal” (New York Times). Combining a commitment to rigorous scholarship with a vital concern for dialogue and debate, the journal presents articles by eminent and emerging scholars, critics, and artists on a wide variety of issues in contemporary criticism and culture. Associated with no single school of thought, tied to no single discipline, Critical Inquiry is dedicated to providing a forum for cutting-edge thought while reconsidering traditional concepts and practices.
Environmental ethics: an interdisciplinary journal dedicated to the philosophical aspects of environmental problems
An interdisciplinary journal which seeks to combine nonprofessional environmental philosophy with the professional interest in the subject; articles in all areas of philosophy and environmental affairs.
Ethics
An international journal of social, political and legal philosophy; reviewed articles from philosophy, social and political theory, theories of individual and collective choice, social and economic policy analysis, jurisprudence, international relations.
Journal of the History of Philosophy
The Journal of the History of Philosophy is an internationally recognized quarterly that publishes peer-reviewed articles, notes, discussions, and book reviews devoted to the history of philosophy.
Mind
Mind has long been the leading journal in philosophy. For well over 100 years it has presented the best of cutting edge thought in epistemology, metaphysics, philosophy of language, philosophy of logic, and philosophy of mind.
Philosophers' Imprint
Philosophers' Imprint is a refereed series of original papers founded by Stephen Darwall and J. David Velleman. The Imprint was founded in the spirit of the Open Access movement, whose mission is to promote a future in which funds currently spent on journal subscriptions are redirected to the dissemination of scholarship for free, via the Internet.
Philosophical Investigations
Philosophical Investigations is an esteemed scholarly journal with a lively readership, publishing articles in every branch of philosophy, including ethics, epistemology, perspectivism, diachrony and synchrony. Each issue contains thought-provoking articles, an acclaimed discussion section, and wide-ranging book reviews.
Philosophical Quarterly
The Philosophical Quarterly is one of the most highly regarded and established academic journals in philosophy. In an age of increasing specialism, it remains committed to publishing high quality articles from leading international scholars across the range of philosophical study. Accessibility of its content—for all philosophers including students—is also a priority.
Philosophical Review
The journal aims to publish original scholarly work in all areas of analytic philosophy, with an emphasis on material of general interest to academic philosophers, and is one of the few journals in the discipline to publish book reviews.
Philosophy & Technology
This journal aims to publish the best research produced in all areas where philosophy and technology meet.
Philosophy East and West
Promoting academic literacy on non-Western traditions of philosophy, Philosophy East and West has for over half a century published the highest-quality scholarship that locates these cultures in their relationship to Anglo-American philosophy. Philosophy defined in its relationship to cultural traditions broadly integrates the professional discipline with literature, science, and social practices. Each issue includes debates on issues of contemporary concern and critical reviews of the most recent publications.