Research Guides: Psychology: Find Articles

Tip: Peer Reviewed Articles

Peer reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
use terms and language that are discipline-specific
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field before publication (peer review)
published by professional organizations or societies, universities, research centers, or scholarly presses

Strategies for finding peer reviewed articles:

Use a library database and limit your search to only peer reviewed articles, you may also see phrases like Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Learn if a journal is peer-reviewed:
- Some databases allow you to click on the journal title to get more information about it.
- Or check the journal's website to see whether or not the journal uses a peer-review process in its publishing practices.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic and peer-reviewed articles from 11,000+ journals in most subject areas. Full text for many (but not all) articles.
Annual Review of Psychology
A peer-reviewed academic journal that publishes review articles about psychology. Full-text coverage from 1996-present.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
Indexes and abstracts journal articles about education.
JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Our subscription is generally limited to full text coverage from the beginning of each publication to about 3-5 years ago.
Maine's Mental Health Resource Database
This database includes numerous mental health resources and
an interactive map of Maine searchable by county.
Project Muse (Basic College Collection)
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Social Science Premium Collection
Provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, dissertations, and more, including over 4,300 full-text titles. Subjects covered: anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, and sociology.

Finding Journals

Are you wondering if we have a particular journal? Do you have a citation like the following and want to know if the article is available in one of our databases?

Lichtenberg, J. W., Goodyear, R. K., Hutman, H., & Overland, E. A. (2016). Counselling psychology in the united states. Counselling Psychology Quarterly, 29(2), 216-224.

The name of the journal in the citation above is Counseling Psychology Quarterly. To find out if we have access to this journal, do a title search for Counseling Psychology Quarterly in our EBSCO FIND A JOURNAL.

This shows that the full text of articles from Counseling Psychology Quarterly are available in our database Social Science Premium Collection from 02/01/1968 to 1 year ago. Since our citation above shows that the article we want is from 2016, we should be able to find it in this database.

Journals

Annual Review of Psychology
The Annual Review of Psychology covers the significant developments in the field of psychology, including: biological bases of behavior, sensation and perception, cognitive processes, animal learning and behavior, human development, psychopathology, clinical and counseling psychology, social psychology, personality, environmental psychology, community psychology, and more.
British Journal of Developmental Psychology
The British Journal of Developmental Psychology is an international journal covering all aspects of psychological development across the lifespan. We publish research in biological, social, motor, perceptual, cognitive, language, neural, clinical, personality, social, and emotional development as well as atypical development. We welcome original empirical research, novel theoretical reviews, methodological papers, and systematic reviews. The journal is committed to open science and encourages research and theory relevant to underrepresented populations.
Child Development
Child Development has published articles, essays, reviews, and tutorials on various topics in the field of child development since 1930. Spanning many disciplines, the journal provides the latest research, not only for researchers and theoreticians, but also for child psychiatrists, clinical psychologists, psychiatric social workers, specialists in early childhood education, educational psychologists, special education teachers, and other researchers.
Clinical Child and Family Psychology Review
Clinical Child and Family Psychology Review is an international, interdisciplinary forum for identifying new developments and reviewing current thought and practices in the broad area of the behavioral sciences that pertains to infants, children, adolescents, and families.
Ecological Psychology
Contributes to the understanding of psychological and behavioral processes as they occur within the ecological constraints of animal-environmental systems.
Educational Psychologist
Scholarly essays, reviews, critiques and articles of a theoretical/conceptual nature representing all aspects of educational psychology.
International Journal of Psychology
The International Journal of Psychology (IJP) advances psychological research of interest and relevance for the human condition around the world and serves as the outlet for internationally relevant basic and applied research in scientific psychology.
Journal of Environmental Psychology
The Journal of Environmental Psychology is the premier journal in the field, publishing a wide range of interdisciplinary work from scholars around the world. JEP serves those who have an interest in the scientific study of the psychological processes engaged in the reciprocal relations between individuals and the physical environment.
Psychology Today
Psychology Today is the world’s largest mental health and behavioral science destination online. It is the original and largest publishing enterprise that is exclusively dedicated to human behavior.