Research Guides: Film, Video & Photography: Find Articles

Tip: Peer Reviewed Articles

Peer reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
use terms and language that are discipline-specific
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field before publication (peer review)
published by professional organizations or societies, universities, research centers, or scholarly presses

Strategies for finding peer reviewed articles:

Use a library database and limit your search to only peer reviewed articles, you may also see phrases like Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Learn if a journal is peer-reviewed:
- Some databases allow you to click on the journal title to get more information about it.
- Or check the journal's website to see whether or not the journal uses a peer-review process in its publishing practices.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic and peer-reviewed articles from 11,000+ journals in most subject areas. Full text for many (but not all) articles.
Duke University Press Journals Online
Duke University Press is an academic publisher of books and journals (full text) across humanities, social sciences, and more.
JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Our subscription is generally limited to full text coverage from the beginning of each publication to about 3-5 years ago.
Project Muse (Basic College Collection)
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

Finding Journals

Are you wondering if we have a particular journal? Do you have a citation like the following and want to know if the article is available in one of our databases?

Kirchman, Susan. "Digital Image—Digital Photography." Leonardo, vol. 23 no. 6, 1990, p. 31-32.

The name of the journal in the citation above is Leonardo. To find out if we have access to this journal, do a title search for Leonardo in our EBSCO FIND A JOURNAL.

This shows that the full text of articles from Leonardo are available in our database Project Muse from 01/01/1968 to present. Since our citation above shows that the article we want is from 1990, we should be able to find it in this database.

Journals

Aperture
Aperture is required reading for everyone seriously interested in photography. Founded in 1952, each issue examines one theme explored in two distinct sections: Words, focused on the best writing surrounding contemporary photography, and Pictures, featuring immersive portfolios and artist projects.
Camera Obscura
Camera Obscura provides a forum for scholarship and debate on feminism, culture, and media studies. The journal encourages contributions in areas such as the conjunctions of gender, race, class, and sexuality with audiovisual culture; new histories and theories of film, television, video, and digital media; and politically engaged approaches to a range of media practices.
Cinema Journal
Cinema Journal publishes essays on a wide variety of subjects from (using) diverse methodological perspectives. A "Professional Notes" section informs Society for Cinema and Media Studies members about upcoming events, research opportunities, and the latest published research.
Film History
Film History publishes original research on the international history of cinema, broadly and inclusively understood. Its areas of interest are the production, distribution, exhibition, and reception of films designed for commercial theaters as well as the full range of nontheatrical, noncommercial uses of motion pictures; the role of cinema as a contested cultural phenomenon; the technological, economic, political, and legal aspects of film history; the circulation of film within and across national borders; and the relations between film and other visual media and forms of commercial entertainment.
Film Quarterly
Film Quarterly offers serious film lovers in-depth articles, reviews, and interviews that examine all aspects of film history, film theory, and the impact of film, video, and television on culture and society.
Framework: The Journal of Cinema and Media
Framework is an international, peer reviewed journal dedicated to theoretical and historical work on the diverse and current trends in media and film scholarship. The journal’s multicultural coverage, interdisciplinary focus, and the high caliber of its writers contributes to important interconnections between regional cinemas, practitioners, academics, critics, and students.
Journal of Film and Video
The Journal of Film and Video, an internationally respected forum, focuses on scholarship in the fields of film and video production, history, theory, criticism, and aesthetics. Article features include film and related media, problems of education in these fields, and the function of film and video in society. The Journal does not ascribe to any specific method but expect articles to shed light on the views and teaching of the production and study of film and video.
The Moving Image: The Journal of the Association of Moving Image Archivists
The Moving Image explores topics relevant to both the media archivist and the media scholar. The Moving Image deals with crucial issues surrounding the preservation, archiving, and restoration of film, video, and digital moving images. The journal features detailed profiles of moving image collections; interpretive and historical essays about archival materials; articles on archival description, appraisal, and access; behind-the-scenes looks at the techniques used to preserve, restore, and digitize moving images; and theoretical articles on the future of the field.
Studies in French Cinema
French Screen Studies is the only journal devoted exclusively to French and francophone cinema, providing scholars, teachers and students from around the world with a consistent quality of academic investigation across the full breadth of the subject. Contributors explore the cultural and technical aspects of French cinema from a wide range of methodological perspectives.