Research Guides: Zoology: Find Articles

Tip: Peer Reviewed Articles

Peer reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
use terms and language that are discipline-specific
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field before publication (peer review)
published by professional organizations or societies, universities, research centers, or scholarly presses

Strategies for finding peer reviewed articles:

Use a library database and limit your search to only peer reviewed articles, you may also see phrases like Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Learn if a journal is peer-reviewed:
- Some databases allow you to click on the journal title to get more information about it.
- Or check the journal's website to see whether or not the journal uses a peer-review process in its publishing practices.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic and peer-reviewed articles from 11,000+ journals in most subject areas. Full text for many (but not all) articles.
BioOne
Explore more than 350 journals (full text) and eBooks in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Birds of the World
Birds of the World is a powerful resource that brings deep, scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology into a single platform where biologists and birders can find comprehensive life history information on birds. Every bird has a story. Discover them all with Birds of the World.
Environment Complete
Extensive coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Offering full text and indexing for journals, books and monographs.
JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Our subscription is generally limited to full text coverage from the beginning of each publication to about 3-5 years ago.
Nature
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions.
Project Muse (Basic College Collection)
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Science
Science, founded by Thomas A. Edison in 1880 and published by AAAS, today ranks as the world's largest circulation general science journal. Published 51 times a year, Science is renowned for its highly cited, peer-reviewed research papers, its special strength in life science disciplines, and its award-winning coverage of breaking science news. Full-text from 1997-present.

Finding Journals

Are you wondering if we have a particular journal? Do you have a citation like the following and want to know if the article is available in one of our databases?

Slabach, Brittany L., et al. “Survival and Cause-Specific Mortality of Elk Cervus Canadensis in Kentucky, USA.” Wildlife Biology, vol. 2018, Dec. 2018, p. N.PAG.

The name of the journal in the citation above is Wildlife Biology. To find out if we have access to this journal, do a title search for Wildlife Biology in our EBSCO FIND A JOURNAL.

This shows that the full text of articles from Wildlife Biology are available in our database BioOne from 2005 to 2021. Since the citation above shows that the article is from 2018, it should be available in this database.

Journals

Ornithology (formerly The Auk)
Ornithology publishes research advancing the fundamental scientific knowledge of birds and of broad biological concepts through studies of bird species, often using innovative approaches and analyses.
Journal of Animal Ecology
Founded in 1932, Journal of Animal Ecology publishes original research papers on all aspects of animal ecology; specifically those that make substantial contributions to our understanding of animal ecology as well as offering insights into issues of general interest to ecologists. This includes reviews that shed light on subjects central to animal ecology, including theoretical analyses of specific topics. The Journal publishes standard papers, essay reviews, forum pieces and In Focus articles (by invitation).
Journal of Mammalogy
Journal of Mammalogy was established in 1919 by the American Society of Mammalogists to promote interest in mammals throughout the world by the publication of original research on their ecology, genetics, conservation, behavior, and physiology.
Journal of Zoology
Presents hypothesis-driven research that will be of interest to the general reader in zoology.
National Wildlife
Details conservation issues & natural world discoveries. Provides tips on how to support environmental efforts.
Waterbirds
Waterbirds specializes in scientific articles and notes regarding the biology, status, ecology, management and conservation of all waterbird species living in marine, estuarine, and freshwater habitats worldwide.