Research Guides: Zines: Find Articles

Tip: Peer Reviewed Articles

Peer reviewed articles are:

written by experts in the field
use terms and language that are discipline-specific
assessed for validity and scholarly rigor by other experts in the field before publication (peer review)
published by professional organizations or societies, universities, research centers, or scholarly presses

Strategies for finding peer reviewed articles:

Use a library database and limit your search to only peer reviewed articles, you may also see phrases like Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
Learn if a journal is peer-reviewed:
- Some databases allow you to click on the journal title to get more information about it.
- Or check the journal's website to see whether or not the journal uses a peer-review process in its publishing practices.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic and peer-reviewed articles from 11,000+ journals in most subject areas. Full text for many (but not all) articles.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Discover 49,018,480 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States
Duke University Press Journals Online
Duke University Press is an academic publisher of books and journals (full text) across humanities, social sciences, and more.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
Indexes and abstracts journal articles about education.
JSTOR
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Our subscription is generally limited to full text coverage from the beginning of each publication to about 3-5 years ago.
Nexis Uni
Explore more than 17,000 news, business, and legal sources in our Nexis Uni® academic research database.
Project Muse (Basic College Collection)
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Social Science Premium Collection
Provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, dissertations, and more, including over 4,300 full-text titles. Subjects covered: anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, and sociology.

Finding Journals

Are you wondering if we have a particular journal? Do you have a citation like the following and want to know if the article is available in one of our databases?

Freedman, Jenna. “Grrrl Zines in the Library.” Signs, vol. 35, no. 1, Sept. 2009, pp. 52–59.

The name of the journal in the citation above is Signs. To find out if we have access to this journal, do a title search for Signs in our EBSCO FIND A JOURNAL.

This shows that the full text of articles from Signs are available in our database JSTOR from 1975 to one year ago. Since the citation above shows that the article is from 2009, it should be available in this database.

Journals & Articles

While there aren't specific journals dedicated to zines, but you can find many articles with the subject zines in our databases such as:

Fox, Claire L., et al. “Queering the Form: Exploring the Use of Zines to Create LGBTQIA+ Positive Higher Education Experiences.” Psychology of Education Review, vol. 48, no. 2, Sept. 2024, pp. 9–16.

Horton, Brian A. “Between the Sheets: The Queer Sociality of Bombay Zines.” South Asian Popular Culture, vol. 21, no. 2, July 2023, pp. 205–21.

Gimeno-Sánchez, Andrea. “Urbanism of Zines: The Potential of Environmentalist Zines as Sources for Planning History.” Planning Perspectives, vol. 37, no. 6, Dec. 2022, pp. 1115–46.

Scheper, Jeanne. “Zine Pedagogies: Students as Critical Makers.” Radical Teacher, no. 125, Mar. 2023, pp. 20–32.

Berthoud, Heidy. “My Life as a ‘Like-Minded Misfit,’ or, Experiences in Zine Librarianship.” Serials Review, vol. 44, no. 1, Jan. 2018, pp. 4–12.