Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
College of the Atlantic - Thorndike Library

Ask a Librarian

Off-campus Access

Like us on Facebook

Books, Videos & More

Library Catalogs

Looking for a book, video, cd, etc?  Then check out the following library catalogs.

Start here:

Thorncat - Thorndike Library's online catalog. (Try these Search Tips)

Mainecat - Maine's statewide catalog.  Locate books in libraries throughout Maine.

Worldcat - Global catalog of books and more.  Locate books in libraries worldwide.


More to Explore . . .

Library of Congress Catalog -  The largest library in the world and serving the research needs of Congress and the American people.

Library Catalogs Worldwide - This library catalog gateway is provided by the Library of Congress

Ebooks & Audiobooks

A wide range of ebooks and audiobooks are available to you through subscriptions.  Others are available free online.  We suggest you try the following.

Thorndike's Best Bets

Credo Reference - Premier resource for 600+ online full text encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, biographies, and quotations.

Ebsco eBooks - A collection of 7000+ full text ebooks in all subject areas available for online viewing

Maine Download Library - Academic and general interest ebooks and audiobooks available for download. Note:

  • Requires that you sign in with your 14-digit patron code. Students - # is on the back of your student ID. Staff and faculty - contact the library (x5665).

Other Thorndike Options

AccessScience - Based on McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology & McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology* Articles, biographies, definitions, news * Full text, videos, images, animations, etc

Britannica Online Academic Edition - Multi-disciplinary * Four Britannica encyclopedias online * Full text

Dictionary of Literary Biographies - Literary writers from many eras and genres * Biographies, critical essays * Full text

Enciclopedia Universal en Espanol Online - Spanish encyclopedia online * Articles, photos, images, maps and tables * Full text

English-Spanish Library and Information Studies Dictionary

Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia - Multi-disciplinary * Encyclopedia entries * Full text

Merriam-Webster's Third New International Dictionary, Unabridged Online - Online dictionary * Word definitions, spellings, rhymes, etc. * Full text


Free Online

Bartleby.com - Searches classic literature online.

HaithiTrust - Digital repository of books and journal content from major research institutions and libraries, much of which is available to the general public.

Internet Archive - Millions of books and digitized texts, many from libraries and historical societies

Online Books - Find links to freely available online books organized by call number and subject area by the University of Pennsylvania.

Project Gutenberg - Over 42,000 online books now in the public domain because their copyrights have expired.