LibGuides: Biology: Articles & Journals

Finding Articles

Find Articles Using the Library's Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic and peer-reviewed articles from 11,000+ journals in most subject areas. Full text for many (but not all) articles.
Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics This link opens in a new window
Reviews of the year's most significant primary research in ecology, evolution, and systematics. Full-text access from 1996-present.
Annual Review of Environment and Resources This link opens in a new window
A peer-reviewed scientific journal that publishes review articles about environmental science and environmental engineering. Full text coverage from 1996 - present.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
Explore more than 350 journals (full text) and eBooks in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Offering full text and indexing for journals, books and monographs.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Our subscription is generally limited to full text coverage from the beginning of each publication to about 3-5 years ago.
Nature This link opens in a new window
Online version of Nature, a British multidisciplinary scientific journal. A top academic journal that publishes original research across a wide range of scientific fields. Full text coverage from 1997-present.
Science This link opens in a new window
Articles from the journal Science. Full-text from 1997-present.

Finding Journals

Are you wondering if we have a particular journal? Do you have a citation like the following and want to know if the article is available in one of our databases?

Petersen, C. W. "Sexual conflict and cooperation in hermaphroditic fishes." INTEGRATIVE AND COMPARATIVE BIOLOGY. Vol. 44. No. 6. 1313 DOLLEY MADISON BLVD, NO 402, MCLEAN, VA 22101 USA: SOC INTEGRATIVE COMPARATIVE BIOLOGY, 2004.

The name of the journal in the citation above is Integrative and Comparative Biology. To find out if we have access to this journal, do a search on Comparative Biology:

HERE

You'll get a result that looks like this:

This shows that the full text of articles from Integrative and Comparative Biology are available in our database BioOne from 2002 to 2004. Since our citation above shows that the article we want is from 2004, we should be able to find it in this database. So, you would just need to click on BioOne and do a title search on "Sexual Conflict and cooperation in hermaphroditic fishes."

Recommended Journals

We think you might enjoy browsing these journals, whether in print or electronic.

American Biology Teacher
->Full text from 01/01/2000 to present in BioOne
->Full text from 10/01/1938 to 3 years ago in JSTOR Biological Sciences
American Forests
->Full text from 02/01/1994 to 2018 in Academic Search Complete
->Library's Print Holdings: Vol 78-present (1972-present)
Animal Cells and Systems
->Full text from 03/01/2010 to present in Academic Search Complete
Annals of Applied Biology
->Full text from 06/01/2004 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Complete
BioScience
->Full text from 01/01/1992 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Complete
->Full text from 01/01/1964 to 3 years ago in JSTOR Biological Sciences
Cellular Microbiology
->Full text from 07/01/1999 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Complete