LibGuides: Politics, Policy, Government &amp; Law: Articles &amp; Journals

Finding Articles

Find articles about political science and law using these recommended resources.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic and peer-reviewed articles from 11,000+ journals in most subject areas. Full text for many (but not all) articles.
Duke University Press Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Duke University Press is an academic publisher of books and journals (full text) across humanities, social sciences, and more.
Environmental Law Reporter (ELR) This link opens in a new window
ELR is an essential online research tool edited by attorneys that provides the most-often cited analysis of environmental, sustainability, natural resources, energy, toxic tort, and land use law and policy.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Extensive coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Offering full text and indexing for journals, books and monographs.
FindLaw This link opens in a new window
Provides access to online legal information for consumers and small businesses.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Provides access to an extensive country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide. There are 174 Country Guides of 119 topics each.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Our subscription is generally limited to full text coverage from the beginning of each publication to about 3-5 years ago.
Project Muse (Basic College Collection) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Social Science Premium Collection provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, dissertations, and more, including over 4,300 full-text titles.

Finding Journals

Are you wondering if we have a particular journal? Do you have a citation like the following and want to know if the article is available in one of our databases?

Nash, L. (2017). From safety to risk: The cold war contexts of american environmental policy. Journal of Policy History , 29(1), 1-33

The name of the journal in the citation above is Journal of Policy History. To find out if we have access to this journal, do a search for the journal's title:

HERE

You'll get a result that looks like this:

This shows that the full text of articles from Journal of Policy History are available in our database Social Science Premium Collection from 2009 to one year ago. Since our citation above shows that the article we want is from 2017, we should be able to find it in this database. So, you would just need to click on Social Science Premium Collection and do a title search for the article's title.

Recommended Journals

The Atlantic
->Full text from 11/01/1993 to present in Academic Search Complete
->Library's Print Holdings: Vol195- present (1955 to present)
Critical Inquiry
-> Full text to all issues in Univ of Chicago Press Journals
Daedalus
->Full text from Fall 2003 to present in MIT Press Journals
->Library's Print Holdings: Vol 87-present (1958-present)
The Economist
->Library's Print Holdings: Vol 332-present (1994-present)
Environmental Law Review
->Full text from 12/01/2001 to 12/01/2014 in Academic Search Complete
Foreign Affairs
->Full text from 09/15/1922 to present in Academic Search Complete
->Library's Print Holdings: Vol 44-present (1968-present)
Foreign Policy
->Full text from 03/01/1990 to present in Business Source Complete
->Library's Print Holdings: Vol 9-146 (1972-2005)
Harvard Environmental Law Review: HELR
->Full text from 01/01/2000 to present in Environment Complete
->Library's Print Holdings: Vol 8-present (1988-present)
High Country News
->Full text from 09/05/2005 to present in Environment Complete
-> Library's Print Holdings: Vol. 25-49 (993 to 2017)
Lewis & Clark Law Review
->Full text from 12/01/2007 to present in Academic Search Complete
New York Times
-> Contact library staff (library@coa.edu) for access - for current students, faculty & staff only

Politics, Policy, Government & Law

OneSearch

Can't find your article?

Finding Articles

Finding Journals

Recommended Journals