A call number is an item's address that tells you where to find it in the library.
In Thorncat (our library catalog), our call numbers show up with other location information such as availability and shelving location.
Step 1: Find the item you want by using our online catalog, Thorncat: coa.edu/library
Step 2: Locate the call number in the listing.
Art of Acadia
Little, David, 1951–
Call number: ND 1351.5 .L58 2016
Please note: A large portion of the stacks contains the Main Collection, but there are other collections as well. The call numbers of these other collections begin with a special prefix. O/S = Oversize Collection, JUV = Juvenile Collection, VIDEO = DVD or VHS, GRAPHIC NOVELS = Graphic Novels Collection
Step 3: Go to the stacks. The signs at the top of each row show both the collection and the first letters of your call number.
Example: Using call number ND 1351.5 .L58 2016 look for a row labeled Main Collection NA–P.
Step 4: Locate your row. Notice the books are arranged alphanumerically by call number starting at the top left.
Step 5: Look on the book spines. Here is how to decode the labels:
| What You See | What It Means | What To Do | |
|---|---|---|---|
 |
ND | The book's subject | Read this row alphabetically |
| 1351.5 | Further defines the subject | Read this line as a whole number | |
| .L58 | The author designation | Read this alphabetically and then the number as a decimal | |
| 2016 | Year of publication |
We have a number of collections that have prefixes and/or suffixes that further identify their location or material type. Some material types have accompanying stickers that work in tandem with the prefixes. This guide will help you identify our prefixes and how they are used on spine labels and in the catalog.
| Prefix | Collection Name | Example |
| ATLAS | Atlases Collection | ATLAS G 1216 .S1 H578 2015 |
|
BATEAU |
Bateau Press Collection | BATEAU PS 536.3 .B38 2019 v.9.1 BATEAU PS 3602 .R4496 B74 2023 |
|
CD |
Audio Collection |
CD |
| COA | COA Authors Special Collection |
Book |
| COA COLL | COA Collection |
COA COLL AR 1990-1991 |
| ER JUV, IR JUV, YA JUV | Juvenile Collection: Easy Reading, Independent Reading, Young Adult |
Easy Reading (grades K-3; ages 5-8) Independent Reader (grades 4-6; ages 8-12) Young Adult (7-12; ages 13+) |
| FOLIO | Folio Collection (book height over 40cm) | FOLIO NA 680 .P378 2004 |
| GAME | Games Collection (board & card games) | GAME BRAILLE UNO |
| GRAPHIC NOVELS | Graphic Novels Collection | GRAPHIC NOVELS PN 6727 .M2178 T45 2023 Young Adult Graphic Novels GRAPHIC NOVELS YA JUV HV 875.64 .M94 2023 |
| LAW COLL | Law Collection |
LAW JK 1 .C66 1995 |
| O/S | Oversize Collection (book height between 28-39 cm) | O/S TJ 1201 .A9 M35 2020 |
| PUZZLE | Puzzles Collection | PUZZLE BICYCLE SHOP |
| REF | Reference Collection | REF HA 12.5 .U63 2022 REF ML 100 .N48 v.1 |
| SCI FI | Science Fiction Collection | SCI FI FOS |
| SENIOR PROJECT | Senior Projects (stored in the archives) |
SENIOR PROJECT |
| SPEC COLL | Special Collection Rare Books Ashley Bryan Special Collection |
SPEC COLL TX 145 .B46 1849
SPEC COLL IR JUV SH 381.5 .M38 1999 |
| SC ARTISTS' Book | Special Collection Artists' Books | SC ARTISTS' BOOK .A447p 1992 |
| SC Zine | Special Collection Zines | SC ZINE .R443c 1995 |
| TERM | Term Long Checkouts Collection | TERM HOL c.1 TERM HOL c.2 |
| THESIS | Master's Theses (stored in archives, 2nd copies with the COA Collection) | THESIS 1996 .A73 THESIS 1994 .D53 |
| VIDEO | Video Collection (VHS, DVDs, Blu-Rays) | VIDEO HD 87 .C66 .C66 2003 v.1 VIDEO PN 1995.9 .W6 P566 2018 VIDEO PN 1995.9 .W6 P566 2018 booklet VIDEO PN 1995.9 .W3 R634 2009 disc 1 VIDEO PN 1995.9 .W3 R634 2009 disc 2 |
|
FRENCH |
World Language Collection |
The language the materials are World Language materials in the ER, |
|
ZINE |
Zine Collection |
ZINE .Y68y 2022 TINY ZINES are smaller than 21 cm |
Suffixes
Some materials contain parts or volumes, which combined with other pieces makes up the whole. The material being cataloged will generally identify these like in the case of a 2 volume set or a 3 part set of books.
BF 1879 .T2 C2925 2022 pt.1
BF 1879 .T2 C2925 2022 pt.2
BF 1879 .T2 C2925 2022 pt.3
BF 353 .H26 1987 v.1
BF 353 .H26 1987 v.2
Sometimes DVDs come in multiple cases with multiple discs and/or accompany booklets, that all need call numbers and barcodes.
VIDEO PN 1997.2 .G5769 2015
VIDEO PN 1997.2 .G5769 2015 booklet
VIDEO PN 1997 .A43 2003 discs 1&2
VIDEO PN 1997 .A43 2003 discs 3&4
VIDEO PN 1995.9 .E96 B937 2010 pt.1
VIDEO PN 1995.9 .E96 B937 2010 pt.2
We have multiple copies of some materials, which are designated by a copy number.
GV 854.5 .M2 B44
GV 854.5 .M2 B44 c.2
GV 854.5 .M2 B44 c.3
We have a few audiobooks and language learning audio sets, which are designated with the suffix AUDIO
E 382 .M433 2008 AUDIO disc 1-4
ARABIC PJ 6111 .A735 2012 AUDIO pt.1
QL 785 .B49 2015 AUDIO