Archives & Special Collections

A finding aid is a document which describes a collection and shows researchers where to look within a collection. 

Each finding aid document will show the name of the collection at the top of the document, followed by summary information, access and use information, and scope & content notes. These sections give general information about the entire collection. 

Underneath the general collection information there is a contents listing. The contents listing includes brief information about each item within a collection. 

Summary Information includes

• the date range of the materials in that collection
• the creator of those materials
• the total size of the collection
• and where the collection is stored within the archives.

Access and Use includes 

• who gave the materials to the archives
• when and how they were given
• whether or not the materials in that collection can be viewed 
• copyright information 
• and citation information.

Scope & contents notes includes details about

• the organization of the collection 
• and the types of materials in the collection. 

The contents listing is a list of every item or folder in that collection. The listing includes a general descriptive title and the date of the material if it is known.

The list reflects the order and location of the items within the collection in the archives, so item number 65 in box number 2 would be the 65th folder in the second box of that collection. 

The scope and contents notes are helpful for understanding what kinds of materials are in that collection, and what the general title in the contents listing is referring to (a publication, a report, a newsletter, correspondence or memos, etc.).