The College Archives contain materials documenting the history, organization, policies, people, and development of the College. Materials in the College Archives are accessible by finding aids, documents that provide general descriptive information for a collection with a listing of its contents. Our digital collections include materials from the College Archives which have been digitized and made accessible online, as well as born-digital materials.
Some of our archival collections will not be found in the Online Archive but can be accessed elsewhere. Details about accessing these particular collections are included below.
---
To view physical materials from the archives, email archives@coa.edu or click here to schedule an appointment. You can also contact Elliot Santavicca, Archivist/Librarian, for more information on accessing archival materials.
---
Access by Request Only
The COA Campus Artwork Collection contains information about many of the artworks around campus, both displayed and in storage.
These are cataloged in the Online Archive, although they are not publicly available. Please reach out to the archivist if you would like to know more about this collection or would like access to any of the works.
---
Senior Projects & Masters Theses
Senior Projects and Master’s Theses are cataloged in the library’s catalog, Thorncat. All available Senior Projects will have SENIOR PROJECT as their call number and are available for in-library viewing. Master’s Thesis call numbers have the prefix THESIS and are located in the COA Collection area at the back of the library.
⇒View Senior Projects in Thorncat.
⇒View Master’s Theses in Thorncat.
⇒View a list of all the projects and theses held in the archives here.
---
Governance Collections
College governance records, including minutes, charters, policies and proposals, are archived in two formats:
Not all records are available digitally, if the record(s) you are looking for are not in the Governance Digital Archive, they can likely be found in the College Governance Collection.
The Governance Digital Archive is a shared google drive which is only accessible to COA community members and must be viewed from a coa.edu email address. Committee minutes and charters are organized by Committee Name. Records in the Governance Digital Archive are text searchable. To search within a particular committee’s records, use the Advanced Search symbol at the right of the search bar then select the Location (folder) you would like to search within.
The College Governance Collection is a physical collection in the College Archives containing records of the committees that govern the college. Some of these materials are available in the Governance Digital Archive. The finding aid provides a listing of the contents of the collection, and is organized into three series: Committees, Policies, and Proposals. Committee minutes and charters are organized alphabetically by Committee Name. Contact the archivist or schedule an appointment to view physical materials.
Our Special Collections contain materials of enduring historical value that do not fall within the collecting scope of the College Archives but do hold research value to our community members. Most of our special collections can be found in Thorncat, the library catalog.
Special Collections in Thorncat
The Rare Book Collection consists of non-college published books that are unique, valuable or fragile and relevant to the College’s teaching and research interests. Placement in the collection is guided by criteria regarding the scarcity, research value, physical characteristics, and condition of materials.The Rare Book Collection is a non-circulating, in-library use collection.
⇒View Rare Book titles in Thorncat.
The COA Authors Collection contains publications (self and professionally published) written by College of the Atlantic faculty, staff, students, and alumni. The COA Authors Collection is a non-circulating, in-library use collection.
⇒View COA Authors titles in Thorncat.
The COA Collection contains college publications, student publications, and master’s theses that are accessible in the library stacks by anyone for in-library use only.
⇒View COA Collection titles in Thorncat.
The Artists’ Book Special Collection contains artist books produced or collected by College of the Atlantic faculty, staff, students, and alumni. Placement in the collection is guided by criteria regarding the scarcity, research value, physical characteristics, and condition of materials. The Artists' Book Special Collection is a non-circulating, in-library use collection.
⇒View Artists’ Book Special Collection titles in Thorncat.
The Zine Special Collection contains unique, fragile, or scarce zines produced or collected by College of the Atlantic faculty, staff, students, and alumni. Placement in the collection is guided by criteria regarding the scarcity, research value, physical characteristics, and condition of materials. The Zine Special Collection is a non-circulating, in-library use collection.
⇒View Zine Special Collection titles in Thorncat