Many Thorndike databases can provide useful resources for your business or nonprofit research. Here are a few that might be particularly helpful:
IBISWorld
This database is a great place to start for well-organized, user-friendly U.S. industry summaries, U.S. business environment profiles, and company profiles. Learn if an industry is growing or shrinking, what its cost structure looks like, who the main customers and competitors are, and much more. Every report in IBISWorld is researched and prepared by the IBISWorld team.
Nexis-Uni
This database is a good place to search for business news, company profiles, analyst reports, and legal findings. Nexis Uni compiles information from thousands of credible sources, avoiding fake news and sponsored content. You can use Nexus-Uni to find companies’ SEC filings (detailed annual reports on company financials and management) and to find independent ranking of companies’ ESG performance (environmental, social, governance).
Entrepreneurship
This database from Gale offers a variety of resources for planning, starting, funding, and operating a business. You can find hundreds of sample business plans, textbook chapters, and case studies from Spotify, Marvel, and more. Start by browsing through the topics on the database home page.
Wall Street Journal
A definitive source of news and information on business, finance, economics, and money. Search for stories, analysis, and opinion on companies, industries, economies.
GreenFile
This research database from EBSCO includes articles from scholarly journals, government publications, and much more, focusing on connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Includes content on climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center
This collection of magazines, trade journals, blogs, videos, etc. offers a surprising amount of resources for makers, performing artists, collectors, and other creative entrepreneurs. Try searching for your topic + keywords like “business” or “market”, etc.
Gale LegalForms
This collection of sample legal forms includes many business resources such as contracts, proposals, articles of incorporation, planning templates, and employment agreements. Try searching in the “Small Business” category.
This research service focuses on stocks, company news, and other information of interest to investors.