Business

GreenBiz - articles, videos, podcasts, newsletters, and research papers on business sustainability

Solutions Journalism Network - well-researched, credible database of journalistic stories about responses to the world’s challenges.

Triple Pundit - journalism focused on the business case for corporate responsibility and sustainability

UN SDGS - explore the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals including databases of good practices and implementation worldwide.

The Knowledge Hub at Eco-Act - research on how the largest companies in the world are acting and reporting on climate-related sustainability. Several reports track major indices like the FTSE 100 and the DOW 30.

Carbon War Room - facilitates business solutions to advance the low-carbon economy.

Global Impact Investing Network - information on investments made with the intention to generate positive, measurable social and environmental impact alongside a financial return.

EBSCO's GreenFILE database - resources with a special focus on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as business, agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

Specific journal titles to explore:

• Corporate Social Responsibility & Environmental Management - find in GreenFILE database
• Business Strategy & the Environment - find in GreenFILE database
• Journal of Business Ethics: JBE - find in Business Premium Collection database
• Journal of Corporate Citizenship - find in JSTOR database

B Corporations - certification for businesses that legally requires them to consider their impact on workers, customers, suppliers, community, and the environment. As of 2020 there are over 3500 "B-corps" in over 70 countries.

B Labs SDG Action Manager - the people behind B Corporations have launched this tool to help business track progress toward implementing the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) - independent international nonprofit that develops the GRI standards for business sustainability reporting across economic, environmental, and social categories. Generally recognized as the most widely used format worldwide for sustainability reporting.

International Integrated Reporting Council (IIRC) - international coalition that develops the <IR> Framework, a tool that connects financial accounting and sustainability disclosure via integrated reporting.

Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (SASB) - independent standards board that develops industry-specific disclosure standards across five dimensions: environment, human capital, social capital, business model and innovation, and leadership and governance.

To learn more about sustainability reporting in general:

• "The Current State of Sustainability Reporting" from July 2018 issue of The CPA Journal
• Landrum, N. E., and Ohsowski, B. (2018) Identifying Worldviews on Corporate Sustainability: A Content Analysis of Corporate Sustainability Reports. Bus. Strat. Env., 27: 128– 151. doi: 10.1002/bse.1989. (Full text in GreenFILE database.)
• Try a search for sustainability reporting or csr reporting or sustainability report or csr report  in GreenFILE, Business Premium Collection, JSTOR, or other databases that you like.